top of page

How to Record Your Screen

Ever wonder how YouTubers show their computer screen while they're explaining stuff?

Or how you're able to see people's iPhone screen and what they're clicking on in real time?

Well I did.

I was recording a vlog and I wanted to show what I was using on my desktop.

Of course the "get-it-done" in me just whipped out my iPhone and recorded the process.

The next time, though, I wanted to have a more polished look.

Not to mention, it would be easier for the viewer to follow what was going on if the screen wasn't titled.

I did a little research, and found Microsoft Expression Encoder, a free software that's easy to use.

Once you install it, you pull up Screen Capture, hit the red record button, draw a line around the part of your screen you want to record (which I love because I can hide all of my tabs without closing them), then you hit record again and Encoder does a countdown letting you know your it's about to start recording.

Initially, I couldn't figure out how to save the file in a windows movie maker format, but I followed the steps in this video and it worked.

Next, I'll be testing out the steps to do a screen capture of my iPhone when I want to vlog about tips and tricks I've figured out on different social media platforms.

If you end up using Encoder for one of your videos shoot me the link so I can check it out!

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page